Agenzia Stampa Aspapress

Autorizzazione Tribunale di Forlì 6/91 del 8 marzo 1991 - Anno XXX - Registro Nazionale della Stampa 02659 - Registro Operatori Comunicazioni n. 1187 - Direttore Editoriale e responsabile Enzo Fasoli - Casella postale 19152 - 00173 Roma Cinecittà est - Responsabile dati: Carlo Carbone - Capo redattore Cristiano Rocchi. Associazione Periodici Associati: Presidente Enzo Fasoli - Responsabile settore: Angelo Misseri - Redazione Daniela Zappavigna.

Cerca nel blog


26 giugno 2021

| 58th October Salon | Belgrade Biennale 2021





Alex Israel, Sky Backdrop Billboard, 2021, site-specific billboard, Belgrade. Courtesy: the artist and Almine Rech




58th October Salon | Belgrade Biennale 2021

June 25 – August 22, 2021 |

#58thOctoberSalon #BelgradeBiennale2021 #TheDreamers2021



Founded by the city of Belgrade in 1960, with the support of the Ministry of Culture and Information of the Republic of Serbia, the October Salon | Belgrade Biennale is one of the most important cultural events in the Balkan area

Its 58th edition opens to the public from June 25, 2021 to August 22, 2021, after several changes of date, because of the global health emergency.


Involving 64 artists, the Biennale – called THE DREAMERS and curated by Italian curators Ilaria Marotta and Andrea Baccin, founders of CURA. – explores the space of dream as a metaphorical space of freedom, capable of re-reading categories, rules and roles, and the most established certainties. Through the gaze of dreamers, the exhibition features the complexity of our world and "the ability to create Worlds – now more than ever – and not only to inherit and live within existing ones." (Ian Cheng)



By tracing the fundamental role of dreams in defining the most authentic spirit of the human being in every age and culture, the exhibition defines the dream world as a timeless and universal space, capable of overcoming political, cultural, language gender, religion, and expression barriers.


The largest part of the exhibition – which includes 160 works, 70 new productions, public interventions and site-specific projects – is hosted at the former military building of the Belgrade City Museum, in the surrounding park of the Museum of Yugoslavia with a Sculpture Garden, complemented by the galleries of the Cultural Centre of Belgrade – a place strongly connected to the cultural life of the city – and the Movie Theatre with a Film Program.


Radio Belgrade Channel 2 is the platform for a radio drama directed by Than Hussein Clark and a work by Alex Da Corte will be broadcast once day, on TV RTS 3 Culture and Art Program, during the exhibition.


THE DREAMERS also includes a program of artists' talks and performances and site-specific public interventions, among whom Cyprien Gaillard's permanent installation, which the artist donated to the city.




Jean-Marie Appriou, 1986; Marija Avramović and Sam Twidale, 1989/1988; Trisha Baga, 1985; Davide Balula, 1978; Will Benedict, 1978; Cecilia Bengolea, 1979; James Bridle, 1980; Dora Budor, 1984; Elaine Cameron-Weir, 1985; Ian Cheng, 1984; Claudia Comte, 1983; Sanja Ćopić, 1992; Matt Copson, 1992; Vuk Ćosić, 1966; Vuk Ćuk, 1987; Alex Da Corte, 1980; Jeremy Deller and Cecilia Bengolea, 1966/1979; Simon Denny, 1982; Nicolas Deshayes, 1983; DIS (Lauren Boyle, Solomon Chase, Marco Roso, David Toro), 2010; Aleksandra Domanović, 1981; David Douard, 1983; Cécile B. Evans, 1983; Cao Fei, 1978; Cyprien Gaillard, 1980; Nenad Gajić, 1982; Camille Henrot, 1978; David Horvitz, 1974; Klára Hosnedlová, 1990; Marguerite Humeau, 1986; Than Hussein Clark, 1981; Pierre Huyghe, 1962; Invernomuto (Simone Bertuzzi and Simone Trabucchi), 2003; Alex Israel, 1982; Melike Kara, 1985; Nadežda Kirćanski, 1992; Josh Kline, 1979; Oliver Laric, 1981; Mark Leckey, 1964; Hannah Levy, 1991; Hana Miletić, 1982; Ebecho Muslimova, 1984; Katja Novitskova, 1984; Precious Okoyomon, 1993; Wong Ping, 1984; Sonja Radaković, 1989; Jon Rafman, 1981; Anri Sala, 1974; Bojan Šarčević, 1974; Max Hooper Schneider, 1982; Augustas Serapinas, 1990; Igor Simić, 1988; Marianna Simnett, 1986; Emily Mae Smith, 1979; Colin Snapp with Mauro Hertig, 1982/1989; Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, 1977; Diamond Stingily, 1990; Jenna Sutela, 1983; Nora Turato, 1991; Nico Vascellari, 1976; Jordan Wolfson, 1980; Guan Xiao, 1983.



CATALOG | Cultural Centre of Belgrade and CURA.BOOKS

EDITORIAL PROJECT | CURA. in collaboration with Dan Solbach
GRAPHIC IDENTITY | Giandomenico Carpentieri

BOOKSHOP | Alexis Zavialoff
- Motto Distribution